Australian curriculum

For all students Reception to Year 6, the Australian Curriculum is the mandated curriculum across all Australian states and territories.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens.

For more information on the Australian Curriculum visit

priority areas of learning

Our current Site Improvement Plan prioritises Reading and Maths achievement and growth for every student. Classroom teaching is targeted to strengthen student learning through:


  • Jolly Phonics and Jolly Grammar
  • THE BIG SIX (oral language, phonological awareness, letter sound relationships, vocabulary, fluency, comprehension)
  • Modelled, Shared and Guided reading
  • Comprehension strategies (making connections, questioning, inferring, visualising, determining importance, summarising and synthesising)


  • Problem-based approach
  • Targeted teaching to address mathematical misconceptions

Specialist Teaching

We provide specialist teaching in the following curriculum areas:

  • Japanese (Reception to Year 7)
  • Science (Reception to Year 2)
  • The Arts – Visual, Media, Drama, Music, Dance (Reception to Year 7)
  • Physical Education (Reception to Year 7)
  • Design & Technology (Reception to Year 5)
  • Health (Year 6 & 7)

Intervention Programs

  • MiniLit
  • MacqLit
  • Quicksmart